Search
Close this search box.
Subscribe to our Newsletter!

If you just learned something new want more of that, subscribe to our newsletter.

Related

How to delete a video sent on Facebook Messenger

delete a video sent on messenger

In recent years, privacy is a major talking point when it comes to instant messaging and Facebook is not the user privacy champion. However, some features added to Instagram and Messenger made things a bit better. Now, if you were wondering if you can delete a video sent via Facebook Messenger the answer is yes. Just as with standard messages and images. Learn how to do it below.

How to cancel sending video in Messenger

Back in 2018, Facebook introduced an option to delete sent messages for all included parties as long as users do it in the 10-minute window. Nowadays, there’s no time limit and you can delete messages and media files you shared whenever you please. For you and recipients.

So, the feature conveniently called Unsend is still alive and well and you can use it to delete text messages, videos, photos, or attachments with ease. You can also cancel sending videos while they’re uploading before they reach Facebook servers. That’s the fastest way to delete a video sent in Facebook Messenger.

Here’s how to delete a video sent on Facebook Messenger:

  1. Open Messenger and select the conversation.
  2. Tap and hold on to the video and select Remove in the bottom bar.
  3. Tap Unsend to delete it completely from the conversation for all included parties.delete a video sent on messenger
  4. You can also tap Remove for you to delete a video from chat only for you.

Upon deletion, your recipients will see that the message is unsent. Have in mind that, if the conversation is reported and Facebook is doing an evaluation, the deleted video will appear for them.

Also, you won’t be notified if recipients download or forward the videos before you remove them for everyone. If you’re self-conscious about messages you send, you can use the Vanish mode that will delete seen messages the moment you close the chat.

Alternatively, you can use Secret conversations. This option brings end-to-end encryption to Messenger messages and calls along with disappearing messages. You can set a time frame when messages will auto-delete. Starting with 5 seconds and up to 24 hours.delete a video sent on messenger

To enable Vanish mode or Secret conversations, tap on the “i” icon at the top right corner of a conversation/chat window. You should see both options in the feature list.

And, with that said, we can conclude this article. Thank you for reading and don’t forget to share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Editor’s note: This article was initially published in January 2022. We made sure to revamp it for freshness and accuracy.

Aleksandar Ognjanovic

Aleksandar Ognjanovic

Managing editor at Digital Uncoded. @lemmingspain My fascination with mobile technology, particularly Android and iOS, began years ago and continues today. I'm captivated by the constant evolution in the smartphone industry and its impact on our daily lives, always anticipating the next big innovation. That’s the main reason why I found myself writing instructive content on the subject for users who are not as familiar with all the bells and whistles.
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments